Friday, April 3, 2015

Fiction Competition: Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award

Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award 

The University of Georgia Press is proud to be the publisher of the Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award series. More than fifty short fiction collections have appeared in the series, which was established to encourage gifted emerging writers by bringing their work to a national readership. The first prize-winning book was published in 1983; the award has since become an important proving ground for writers and a showcase for the talent and promise that have brought about a resurgence in the short story as a genre.

Winners are selected through an annual competition. Past winners of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction include such widely read authors as Ha Jin, Antonya Nelson, Rita Ciresi, and Mary Hood. For news and updates about the competition and past winners, visit the Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award on Facebook. 

Edited by Nancy Zafris, the contest is open for submissions from April 1 to May 31 each year.

Entry portal.

No comments: