Sunday, June 18, 2017

Writing Competition: Max Ritvo Poetry Prize

Milkweed Editions, in partnership with the Alan B. Slifka Foundation, is pleased to announce the inaugural Max Ritvo Poetry Prize! Designed to honor the legacy of one of the most original and accomplished poets to emerge in recent years—and to reward outstanding emerging poets for years to come—the prize will be awarded annually to the author of a debut collection of poems. The inaugural winner will receive publication by Milkweed Editions in April 2018 and $10,000, making the Max Ritvo Poetry Prize the most lucrative first-book prize in the U.S.
We aim to establish a transparent, ethical prize that brings together a community of poets to play a significant role in considering submissions. Celebrated poet Henri Cole will judge the inaugural prize. He has chosen five emerging poets to serve as paid first readers: Ruth Awad, Graham Barnhart, Lauren Cook, Allison Pitinii Davis, and Jordan Zandi.
Submissions will be open from July 1 through August 31, 2017.
The winner will be announced on December 1, 2017.
Full guidelines and information here.

No comments: