Thursday, December 12, 2013

Book Award for Fiction or Literary/Narrative Nonfiction: The Chautauqua Prize

Entry form.

Chautauqua Institution, the pre-eminent expression of lifelong learning in the United States, is pleased to invite 2014 submissions for The Chautauqua Prize, a distinguished national literary prize for a work of fiction or literary/narrative nonfiction.

Awarded annually since 2012, The Chautauqua Prize draws upon Chautauqua's considerable literary legacy to celebrate a book that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and honor the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts. The author receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for a one-week summer residency at Chautauqua Institution in western New York.

Eligible books for the 2014 prize will have been published in English in the United States during 2013. Nominations will be accepted beginning Sept. 9, 2013, from publishers, agents, authors, and readers. The deadline for nomination is December 31, 2013. Longlist finalists will be notified in February 2014, at which time authors will be asked to select their summer visit time to Chautauqua should they be awarded the prize. Shortlist finalists and the winner will be notified in April and May 2014. Chautauqua Institution will celebrate the winner in the summer of 2014, at a time selected by the winner and Chautauqua Institution.

Chautauqua’s commitment to the literary arts is immersed in its rich history. In addition to the 135-year-old Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle, Chautauqua’s literary arts programming includes summer-long interaction of published and aspiring writers at the Chautauqua Writers’ Center, the intensive workshops of the nationally recognized Chautauqua Writers’ Festival, and lectures by prominent authors on the craft and art of writing.

The Chautauqua Prize is awarded through a two-tiered judging process that includes Chautauquans who are writers, publishers, critics, editors, librarians, booksellers, and literature and creative writing educators. Each nominated book is evaluated by three reviewers, with the final selection made by a three-member, independent, anonymous jury.

- See more at our website.

No comments: