Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Poetry Competitions: New England Poetry Club

Subject: New England Poetry Club Contests 2013
New England Poetry Club Contests 2013

All contests are open to members in good standing (except Board members). Non-members may enter by paying $10 for up to 3 poems and $3 for each additional poem. Checks should be made out to the New England Poetry Club (NEPC). No charge for students and members. For Student Contests, see below.

Members-Only Contests
Rosalie Boyle/Norma Farber Award
For a poem in traditional form, including sonnet, villanelle, and sestina. Prize $100.

Gretchen Warren Award
For the best published poem of the previous year. (Members of the governing board may not enter any competition except this one.) Send 2 copies of up to 4 poems, with dates and names of publications, author’s name on one copy. No cash award.

Contests Open to Members and Non-Members
Daniel Varoujan Award
For an unpublished poem (not a translation) worthy of Daniel Varoujan, a poet killed by the Turks in the genocide that destroyed three-fourths of the Armenian population. Previous winners may not enter. Prize $1000. Funded by Diana Der-Hovanessian's translation royalties.

Der-Hovanessian Prize
For a translation from any language. Send a copy of the original poem with the translation. Prize $200. Funded by John Mahtesian.

Erika Mumford Prize
For a poem in any form about foreign culture or travel. Prize $250. Funded by her family and friends.

Firman Houghton Award
For a lyric poem in honor of the former president of the NEPC. Prize $250.

Barbara Bradley Award
For a lyric poem under 21 lines, written by a woman. Prize $200.

Jean Pedrick Chapbook Prize
For a chapbook of poems published in the past two years. Send 2 copies of the book. Non-members should include a check for the $5 handling fee. Prize $100.
Send to:
 2 Farrar Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

Sheila Margaret Motton Prize
For a book of poems published in the past two years. Send 2 copies of the book. Non-members should include a check for the $5 handling fee.
Prize $500.

Only one poem may be submitted per contest.
* Entries must be original unpublished (cannot be in print or online) poems in English.
* No poem may be entered in more than one contest, nor should it have won a previous contest.
* Poems should be typed and submitted in duplicate, with the author's name and address on one copy. Include an e-mail address, if available.
* Label each poem with the name of the contest.
* No entry will be returned, and the NEPC does not engage in correspondence regarding poems submitted or contest decisions.
* Judges are well-known poets, and sometimes are winners of previous NEPC contests.
* No entry should be sent by special delivery or express mail. Regular mail only.
* Mark the name or names of the contest(s) entered on the envelope.

All entries (unless otherwise noted) should be sent to:

NEPC Contest
Coordinator, 654 Green St.
No. 2, Cambridge MA 02139

Annual contest deadline: May 31. Entries must be postmarked in April and May only.

Student Contests
Contest deadline: March 18
No fee for full-time students.

The John Holmes Award
For a poem by a student enrolled in a New England college. Prize $100.

Ruth Berrien Fox Award
Given for a poem by a Massachusetts High School student. Prize $100.

Longfellow Prize
For poems by Massachusetts students in elementary and middle schools.
Prize $100.
Funded by Friends of Longfellow House Frank Buda Memorial Fund.

Submit poem in duplicate, with school name, grade, address, and student’s name and e-mail address. Label the entry with the name of the contest.
Send to:

Children's Contests
Longfellow National Historic Site
105 Brattle St.
Cambridge MA 02138.

Again, student contest deadline: March 18

No comments: