Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Poetry Award: The Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize

The Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize

This poetry book series honors the memory of Richard Snyder (1925-1986), poet, fiction writer, playwright, and long-time professor of English at Ashland University. He served for fifteen years as English department chair, and in 1969 co-founded and served as co-editor of the Ashland Poetry Press. He was also co-founder of the creative writing major at Ashland University, one of the first at the undergraduate level in the country. In selecting manuscripts for this series, Ashland Poetry Press editors keep in mind Snyder's tenacious dedication to craftsmanship and thematic integrity.

Submissions to the Snyder Prize are screened by Deborah Fleming, Editor. The 2011 Snyder Prize judge is Natasha Trethewey.
The Winner of the Snyder Prize Receives:

publication of winning manuscript in a paperback edition of 1,000 copies
50 copies of the published book (in lieu of royalties)

2011 Submission Guidelines:

Book-length poetry manuscripts
Original collection of poems of 50 to 80 pages, with no more than one poem per page, single sided
Single spaced
Bound by a single clip: No Folders or Notebooks, Please
Two title pages: one with name, address, and phone number and one with title only
$25 reading fee made payable to The Ashland Poetry Press
Deadline: April 30, 2011
Translations are not eligible
Ashland University employees and their spouses are not eligible

Mail one hard copy to:

The Richard Snyder Publication Prize
The Ashland Poetry Press
Ashland University
Ashland, OH 44805

For notification, enclose a letter-sized self-addressed, stamped envelope. All manuscripts other than the winning one will be recycled.

Look for our announcement in an upcoming issue of The Writers' Chronicle (AWP) and Poets & Writers.

No comments: