Monday, February 22, 2016

Novel Competition: 25th Annual James Jones First Novel Fellowship

The 25th Annual James Jones First Novel Fellowship will be awarded to an American author of a first novel-in-progress, in 2016, by the James Jones Literary Society.

Online submission form.

The award is intended to honor the spirit of unblinking honesty, determination, and insight into modern culture exemplified by the late James Jones, author of From Here to Eternity and other prose narratives of distinction. Jones himself was the recipient of aid from many supporters as a young writer and his family, friends, and admirers have established this award of $10,000 to continue the tradition in his name. Two runners up awards of $1000 each may be given by the Jones Literary Society. All selections are at the discretion of the judges.

Eligible writers:
--Have never published a novel
--Are U.S. citizens
--May have published any other type of work including non-fiction articles and short stories

Non eligible writers:
--Officers of the James Jones Literary Society
--Writers who have published previous novels

Eligible submissions:
--Unpublished novels
--Novels in which one or more chapters have been published

Non eligible submissions:
--Collections of short stories
--Linked short stories
--Self-published novels

Note: Manuscripts may be simultaneously submitted for the First Novel Contest and to a publisher for publication. If the work is accepted by a publisher at any time up to the announcement of the First Novel winner, the Society must be notified and the selection will be withdrawn from the contest. 

Entry Fee: A $30 check/money order, payable to Wilkes University, not to James Jones First Novel Fellowship, must accompany each entry. For online submissions there is an additional $3.00 processing fee. 

Manuscript Guidelines: A two-page (maximum) outline or synopsis of the entire novel and the first 50 pages of the novel-in-progress are to be submitted. A specific format for the outline or synopsis is not required.

The manuscript must be typed and double-spaced; outline may be single-spaced. Entrants should include their name, address, telephone number and e-mail address (if available) ONLY on the cover letter, but nowhere else on the manuscript. Pages should be numbered. For online entries put your cover letter in the cover letter box, and attach you outline/synopsis and the first 50 pages of you novel as one document.

If a manuscript is selected for the final round, the author will be asked to send another copy of the originally submitted first 50 pages. Submissions will be acknowledged only if accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped postcard. No manuscripts will be returned. Failure to comply with manuscript guidelines may disqualify entries.

For a copy of the press release on the winners, please submit a SASE (to the address listed in the next paragraph) marked "Winners 2016 Contest." The press release will be available in late Fall 2016.

DEADLINES: Entries can be mailed via SNAILMAIL or our ONLINE SUBMISSION FORM. Hard Copy entries should be sent to:

James Jones First Novel Fellowship
c/o M.A./M.F.A. in Creative Writing
Wilkes University
84 West South Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18766

and postmarked no later than March 15, 2016 midnight Eastern Standard time. 

ELECTRONIC ENTRIES should be sent no later than midnight, March 15, 2016 Eastern Standard time. 

The winner will be notified in September 2016. The first-prize winner must accept the award at the James Jones Literary Society Conference held each fall, usually in early November. Transportation funding will be provided. An excerpt from the winning manuscript will be published in Provincetown Arts (July 2017.)

No comments: