Sunday, May 4, 2014

Short Story Competition: The 2014 Alice Munro Short Story Competition

The Alice Munro Short Story Competition

Entries must be typed using standard fonts such as Times Roman, Helvetica or Arial, size 11 or 12, double spaced on plain white paper.

Story pages must contain a page number and either the title of your story or one word from the title of your story as a header or footer. Please do not use your name.
i.e. My Story about Dragons … "Dragons … 1"

Entries must not exceed 5000 words.

Stories must be written in English.
Mail one typed copy with registration to:

Alice Munro Writers & Readers Festival
c/o Box 90
Wingham, Ontario N0G 2W0
Email one copy to:

AliceMunroFestivalATgmailDOTcom (Change AT to @ and DOT to . )

Receipt of short stories will be confirmed by email.

Deadline for postmarks of mailed copy or receipt of emailed copy: August 1, 2014

Registration fee:
. Teen Category: $10 per Story
. Adult Category: $25 per Story

. Clip a copy of the EntryForm to front of each story. Payment online by PayPal or via cheque (payment and mailing information on the attached entry form)

Winning entries will receive cash prizes as follows:

Adult Category Teen Category (13-19 years)
1st ~ $500.00 1st ~ $500.00
2nd ~ $300.00 2nd ~ $300.00
3rd ~ $200.00 3rd ~ $200.00
4th ~ $75.00 4th ~ $75.00
5th ~ $ 50.00 5th ~ $ 50.00
Promotions/Public Relations:
Portions of the winning stories may be read during the gala event on Saturday, September 27. Winners agree to interviews with local news media and video-taped interviews with photographer designated by the Festival committee for use on websites and other digital or social media.

Property Rights:
Winning stories may be published in print or online.

Portions of the story may be used in promoting future Festivals.

Pre-published stories are ineligible. Commercially published writers are not eligible to enter this contest. The writer may have their story published after the Festival at their discretion.

Entries will not be returned.

Finalists will be notified by September 1, 2014. Winners names will be published on the website after the announcement at the Gala on September 27, 2014.
Karen Stewart, Chair, Steering Committee

No comments: