Friday, February 5, 2010

Scholarship to Backspace Writers Conference

 Backspace is offering two scholarships (a value of $750) to their upcoming Backspace Writers Conference & Agent-Author Seminar, which will be held in New York City from May 27-29, 2010.

The Backspace Writers Conference (May 28-29, 2010) is two days of panel discussions with literary agents, authors, and acquisition editors, agent workshops, master classes taught by New York Times bestselling authors, and opening pages workshop critiques. PLUS a Friday evening booksigning and cocktail reception. The Backspace Agent-Author Seminar (May 27) is an extra full day of small-gourp breakouts with sixteen agents. It's a chance to have your query read and critiqued and to have agents see the first two pages of your novel. The conference itself is held at the Radisson-Martinique in Midtown Manhattan, walking distance from Penn Station and virtually every subway line in NYC.

To enter the scholarship competition:

You MUST have a finished novel that is ready to query. No exceptions.
The scholarship covers admission to the conference only, not travel or hotel expenses.
The contest is open only to fiction (any genre) and narrative nonfiction manuscripts.

The Rules:

One entry per person.
Print out your query letter plus the first two pages of your finished novel, the same two pages you want to have critiqued at Backspace. The query letter should be single-spaced; the two pages of your manuscript should be standard manuscript format: 12 point type and double-spaced. (Remember, it can only be the first TWO pages, even if the excerpt ends in mid-sentence.)
Mail your entries to:

Attn: Colleen Lindsay
FinePrint Literary Management
240 W. 35th St., Suite 500
New York, NY 10001

Your envelope MUST have the word BACKSPACE written prominently on the front so that it's clearly a contest submission. There will only be two winners. Include a phone number and email for your contact information in the query letter. DO NOT include an SASE.

Entries must be postmarked by March 1, 2010. The two winners will be announced the week of March 15.

No comments: